Cricket World Cup

cup cricket world cupThis article is about the Cricket World Cup for men. For information about the Cricket World Cup for women, please go to our page about Women’s Cricket World Cup.

The ICC Cricket World Cup takes place every fourth year and is organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The type of cricket played is One Day International (ODI). The tournament is one of the world’s most viewed sporting events; only the FIFA World Cup and the Summer Olympics has more viewers. The Cricket World Cup is televised in over 200 countries.

The first Cricket World Cup

Event though cricket is a sport with a long history, the first Cricket World Cup for men wasn’t held until 1975. At this point in history, One Day International cricket was still a novelty, with the first official ODI cricket match being played just four years prior. It should be noted however that a Women’s Cricket World Cup did take place two years before the first men’s Cricket World Cup. Also, the first ICC Cricket World Cup for men was deficiently not the first multi-team international cricket tournament. As early as 1912, a cricket tournament for Test matches involving teams from both England, South Africa and Australia had taken place.

The very first Cricket World Cup took place in England and was officially known as the Prudential Cup since it was sponsored by Prudential, a life insurance and financial services company headquartered in London. The matches consisted of 60 six-ball overs per team.

The eight teams that participated in the first Cricket World Cup were England, Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, and a composite team from East Africa. (South Africa did not participate since the country was banned from international cricket due to apartheid.) The players wore traditional cricket whites and used red cricket balls.

The 1975 Crick World Cup was won by the West Indies, after defeating Australia by 17 runs in the final.

Cricket World Cup Trophy

vricket world cup 2015After each Cricket World Cup, the official Cricket World Cup Trophy is presented to the winners of the final match. They do however not get to keep this trophy since it is kept by the ICC. Instead, they are given a replica to take home.

The Cricket World Cup Trophy is made from silver and gild and consists of three silver columns that holds up a golden globe. The columns are shaped like cricket bails and cricket stumps, while the globe represents a cricket ball. The trophy weighs roughly 11 kilograms and has a height of 60 centimetres. It does not date back to 1975; it was instead ordered for the 1999 Cricket World Cup. Prior to this, an new trophy had been made for each World Cup.

The current Cricket World Cup Trophy was designed and created by Garrard & Co in London. Garrard & Co (formerly known as Asprey & Garrard Limited) is a very old manufacturer of luxury jewellery. The company was founded in London in 1735, and Garrard was the Crown Jewellers of the UK from 1843 to 2007.

At the conclusion of a Cricket World Cup, the name of the winning team is engraved on the base of the trophy. There is room for a total of twenty names.


dazzler the zebraThe first ICC Cricket World Cup to have an official mascot was the 2003 Cricket World Cup in South Africa, where the official mascot was a zebra named Dazzler.

For the 2007 Cricket World Cup, the mascot was an orange mongoose called Mello. This Cricket World Cup took place in the West Indies and was jointly hosted by Barbados, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenda and St. Kitts.

A blue elephant named Stumpy was the mascot for the 2011 Cricket World Cup, which took place in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Cricket fans all over the world participated in a contest to name the mascot.


The format of the Cricket World Cup has not remained unchanged since 1975.

The first four Cricket World Cups (1975, 1979, 1983 and 1987) were played by eight teams, divided into two groups with four teams in each group. The four teams within a group played each other in a round-robin group stage, from which the top two teams proceeded to the (knock-out) semi-finals. The two winners of the semi-finals would then face each other in the final.

For the 1992 Cricket World Cup, the two qualifying groups were replaced by a complete round-robin format. Nine competing teams participated in a total of 36 round-robin matches, followed by two semi-finals and the final.

In 1996, 12 participating teams where divided into two groups with six teams per group. The top four teams from each group proceeded to (knock-out) quarter-finals, followed by semi-finals and a final.

For the 1999 Cricket World Cup, yet another format was devised, one that was to be used for the 2003 Cricket World Cup as well. The teams where divided into two pools, and the top three teams of each pool proceeded to a stage called Super 6. During Super 6, the three top teams from one pool played the three teams from the other pool. As a team advanced, it would carry its points forward from previous matches. The four top teams from the Super 6 stage proceeded to the (knock-out) semi-finals, with the two semi-final winners squaring off in the final.

By 2007, the Cricket World Cup had swelled to include 16 teams. They were divided into four groups with four teams in each group. Within each group, each team would play every other team (round-robin format). A team would earn one point for a win and half a point for a tie. The two teams with the most points in each group would then proceed to the Super 8 stage. During the Super 8 stage, a team would play all the six teams from the other groups but not the other team from its own group. The top four teams from the Super 8 stage proceeded to play in the semi-finals (knock-out), and the winners from the semi-finals met each other in the final.

For the 2011 and 2015 Cricket World Cup, the number of teams had been decreased to 14 and the format reverted back to using only two groups. Each group consisted of seven teams, and each team within a group would play every other team in that group in a round-robin format. The top four teams from each group advanced to the quarter-finals (knock-out), from which four teams went on to play in the semi-finals, after which the winners of the semi-finals met in the final match.