2015 Cricket World Cup

cricket world cup 2015The 2015 Cricket World Cup takes place from 14 February to 29 March and is jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealnd. As always, the Cricket World Cup is administrated by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The 2015 Cricket World Cup is the 11th ICC Cricket World Cup and conists of 49 matches played at a total of 14 venues in Australia and New Zealand. 14 teams particiapate in the tournament, divided into two groups with seven teams in each group. The seven teams within a group play each other once, before the top four teams from each group go on to the quarter-finals. With this format, each time is guaranteed to play at least six matches.

The final match of the 2015 Cricket World Cup will take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, a venue large enough to accommodate over 100,000 spectators.

One Day International (ODI)

The format for the 2015 Cricket World Cup is One Day International (ODI) with round-robin and knockout.

One Day International is a form of limited overs cricket played between two teams, in which each team faces a fixed number of overs (normally 50 overs). Because of this, One Day International matches are sometimes referred to as Limited Overs Internationals (LOI), a term also used for Twenty20 International matches. One Day International is only for cricket teams with international status.

The One Day International format is a fairly recent addition to cricket. The first ODI took place in 1971 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Australia. When the first three days of the third Test were cancelled due to bad weather, the match was abandoned and the Autralian team and the English team instead played a one-off one day game consisting of 40 eight-ball overs per side.

Venues for the 2015 Cricket World Cup

Venues in Australia

City Venue Capacity
Melbourne Melbourne Cricket Ground 100,024
Adelaide Adelaide Oval 53,500
Sydney Sydney Cricket Ground 48,000
Brisbane Brisbane Cricket Ground 42,000
Perth WACA Ground 24,500
Hobart Bellerive Oval 20,000
Canberra Manuka Oval 13,550

Venues in New Zealand

City Venue Capacity
Auckland Eden Park 46,000
Wellington Wellington Regional Stadium 33,000
Christchurch Hagley Oval 20,000
Napier McLean Park 20,000
Hamilton Seddon Park 12,000
Dunedin University Oval 6,000
Nelson Saxton Oval 5,000

teams cricket world cup 2015


Full members of the ICC always qualify automatically to the Cricket World Cup, and the 2015 Cricket World Cup is no exception.

The ICC currently has ten full members:

Nation Governing body Member since
England England and Wales Cricket Board 15 July 1909
Australia Cricket Australia 15 July 1909
South Africa Cricket South Africa 15 July 1909
New Zealand New Zealand Cricket 31 May 1926
India Board of Control for Cricket in India 31 May 1926
West Indies West Indies Cricket Board 31 May 1926
Pakistan Pakistan Cricket Board 28 July 1953
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Cricket 21 July 1981
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Cricket 6 July 1992
Bangladesh Bangladesh Cricket Board 26 June 2000

The ICC also has over 35 associate members and about 60 affiliate members. Associate members and affiliate members do not qualify automatically to the Cricket World Cup.

cup cricket world cupRight after the 2011 World Cup, the ICC decided that the 2015 Cricket World Cup would be limited to full members. This was unsurprisingly met with criticism from several non-full members, including the Irleand Cricket Teamt which had performed well at both the 2007 Cricket World Cup and the 2011 Cricket World Cup.

Eventually, the ICC retracted their decision and decided to allow a total of 14 teams in the 2015 Cricket World Cup. The ICC Chief Executives’ Committee decided on the following qualifying format for the tournament:

  • The top two teams of the 2011-13 ICC World Cricket League Championship qualify directly to the 2015 Cricket World Cup.
  • The remaining six teams from the 2011-13 ICC World Cricket League Championship, plus the third and fourth-placed teams from the 2011 ICC World Cricket League Division Two, and the top two teams from the 2013 ICC World Cricket League Division Three will participate in a World Cup Qualifier to decide which two teams that will fill the remaining two spots in the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

2015 Cricket World Cup participants

Team Method of qualification
 England Full member
 South Africa Full member
 India Full member
 Australia Full member
 Sri Lanka Full member
 Pakistan Full member
 West Indies Full member
 Bangladesh Full member
 New Zealand Full member
 Zimbabwe Full member
 Ireland WCL Championship
 Afghanistan WCL Championship
 Scotland World Cup Qualifier
 United Arab Emirates World Cup Qualifier

The top two teams of the 2011-13 ICC World Cricket League Championship were Ireland and Afghanistan. 2015 World Cricket Cup is the first time ever Afghanistan participates in an ICC Cricket World Cup, while Ireland has participated two times before.

In the Cricket World Cup Qualifier, the top two teams were Scotland and United Arab Emirates. For Scotland, the 2015 Cricket World Cup will be their third Cricket World Cup. For the United Arab Emirates, it will be their second since they have only participated once before, back in 1996.

Among the full members of the ICC, every member except South Africa, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe have participated in ten Cricket World Cups. Zimbabwe has participated in eight, South Africa in six and Bangladesh – who did not become a full member of the ICC until the year 2000 – in four.